I had the pleasure of welcoming fellow painter Cree Scudder to the studio on Thursday.  We’re both in the midst of painting for upcoming shows.  She’s painting for a show in Florida and mentioned that the host for the show asked her for a body of work that she feels doesn’t represent where she is right now in her creative growth.  So the question came up: Do you paint for where you were when you got the show or do you paint where you are right now?

It’s a bit of a quandry in my mind as it was in Cree’s.  How do you go back and trace through creative questions that in essence were already solved? Is it possible to do it up fresh, staying true to where you were and where you are going at the same time? Or does that just come off stilted?

I’m not sure. I told Cree to paint where she is now and let the chips fall where they may.  That was my gut response and I suppose I stick with it. I feel like if you are true to what you want to say, many of those that supported your visions and ideas a year ago will support them now.  There’s always going to be a thread running through the work if you create from you own perspective and let go of what the expectations of others will be.

Now I am going to print this out and put it up in the studio to remind me.

