So I realized that this is my first post in a while.  I’ve been studying obstacles to creativity. More accurately, they’ve been smacking me in the face in the last couple of weeks. I’ve decided that while my new exercise commitment is helping with my stress, some things you just can’t avoid.

Bits and Pieces VII, 24x60

Bits and Pieces VII, 24x60

Not that I haven’t been productive. I have finished a few paintings, a commission and packed up work to get off to Julie Nester Gallery for my show in July.  But I haven’t exactly been in the most positive frame of mind while doing it.  I think the paintings I have finished are good, maybe some of the best work I’ve done in a while, but I am having a hard time sitting back and enjoying it without also steeping in some of the day to day stress that is my life right now.

So, what do you do to leap over the obstacles that impede your creativity? Serious and not so serious answers welcome.

